© 2020 Quixotic Charters Fiji

Reviews & Recommendations

“Beyond all dreams,

the Quixotic experience transcended our loftiest expectations.”

 

"It all starts and ends with the crew. Lewis, the captain, is as professional and experienced as you can get with his constant vigilance, attention to detail, ability to fix anything on board and methodical cheerful approach. Alyssa is a treasure who anticipates every need in a prescient, unassuming authentic and quite frankly loving manner. Her ability to run the boat is only surpassed by her genuine talent in the galley. We are very fussy about our food and my wife prepares a better meal than you will find in a fancy restaurant but Alyssa took us by surprise with her amazing talent. NOT TO BE MISSED! Oh,by the way, the tribal islands, snorkeling and boat activities were also beyond our hopes and fantasies."

- David & Patty G.

Review posted on TripAdvisor: 

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

It was the best decision

sailing with Alyssa and Lewis for 8 days on their Quixotic catamaran. Together they are a very capable and great team.
We had the time of our lives sailing through the paradise that is the Fiji islands.


It was just a magnificent trip and a dream come true to see the beauty of nature, white sandy beaches, crystal clear blue water and the breathtaking underwater world with thousands of fish.

Alyssa and Lewis made the trip even more beautiful. Captain Lewis knows his job so well, it feels like he was born a skipper. He controls the Catamaran easily and always found the best anchoring spot in any bay. We could always choose where we wanted to sail to next, or spontaneously decide if we wanted to stay longer anywhere, provided the weather played ball.

Alyssa made us feel like we were in a fine dining restaurant every day and night. Her snacks and meals are so delicious we couldn't stop eating, and there was always enough food and drink available. We did not even have to ask for anything, because Alyssa already knew when we needed something. Great job to the both of you!

Quixotic is an extremely well built sailing catamaran. There is enough space to hang out whether it's on the deck, inside the lounge area, the bathroom or bed room. Everything is super clean and well equipped. 

Bonus points for having caught three big tuna finish within the first few hours and to Alyssa for preparing lovely sashimi for us as a result! 

All in all we highly recommend sail with these lovely people, there is no way you’ll be disappointed. We will definitely come back for a second trip!"

-Ahmet & Vani, Sydney, Australia

Review posted on TripAdvisor: 

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

"We couldn't have asked for more!

Lewis & Alyssa gave us the perfect honeymoon - and an entirely unique Fiji experience we couldn't have gotten any other way. If you're thinking about seeing Fiji, there's no better way to see all of its beauty than by boat. If you're thinking of boating, you can't ask for a better skipper and chef than these two.

Before we even arrived, they asked our preferences to plan an ideal itinerary - which took us off the beaten path and out to the Lau Islands. They greeted us with champagne and Alyssa's cooking never ceased to amaze us. Our days were willed with a great mix of activities and enjoying life on Quixotic. We fished, snorkled, kayaked, SUPed, windsurfed, relaxed, went to beaches, ate and drank better than we could have at any resort. There were rarely any other boats around in the beautiful and calm coves they found.

We can't thank them enough for such an awesome experience. They are great people and if you are reading this, then there's no choice. Enjoy your time on Quixotic!"

Joe and Lindsey Shields, Washington DC, USA

Review posted on TripAdvisor:

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

Great trip!

A trip of a lifetime! We had a magical week onboard the Quixotic. Sailing to remote locations in Fiji allowed us to experience a true family adventure vacation. From diving and snorkeling in pristine world class sites to being invited to attend a Fiji village church service, we found a truly unique experience. The vessel was well maintained, spotless and was well equipped with water sport equipment. The crew (Sasha, Jenny and Marca) were very experienced, warm and gracious. The hospitality was generous and the food healthy and delicious. We are still amazed that Jenny could prepare such delicious gourmet meals from that galley kitchen! Thank you for a great week and wonderful memories. We wish you smooth sailing in your tropical paradise.

Review posted on TripAdvisor by

Charles M

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa 

on Jan 27, 2020 for a stay in Jan 2020

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

A day or a week - every minute on the quixotic is amazing!

From Captain Sasha, First mate (wife) Jenny to Deckmate Marca we cannot say enough about our week on the Quixotic! The Quixotic details handled by Sasha were flawless. We saw multiple islands and reefs each offering unique and exciting experiences. Marca had every glass filled, every towel from the deck folded and followed up with details that were unexpected. Getting to know her was a true privilege. Frist mate Jenny did it all and I cannot emphasize this enough. She expertly prepared meals like a James Beard award winning chef. She was never without a smile and/or willing to stop whatever she was doing if you had a question. When my hubby caught a sushi worthy Walu (Spanish Mackerel) she made sure it was immediately properly cleaned and quickly changed the menu for our amazing sushi / sashimi dinner. This is something that I will never forget. When will I ever get the chance tohave high end sushi grade fish go from hook to plate in 

a couple of hours? This is not to diminish the made from scratch meals for the rest of the week: fresh mango salsa, caramel tarts, chicken satay, pork chops, fritatta and so much more. All the gear is onboard for kayaking, snorkeling, stand up paddleboarding, fishing. Internet was accessible at all times. (shockingly) The beautiful people and islands of Fiji are incredible and if you want an experience away from the typical tourist version of Fiji, this is it for sure!!!

Reviewed by jlneighbors

Jan 26, 2020

Review posted on TripAdvisor: 

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

Day cruise fantastic

Thanks to Cpt Sasha Jenny and Alyssa for a fantastic day sail. Beautiful catamaran fantastic snorkeling delicious snacks all followed by an amazing lunch. Could not of wished for a better day. We celebrated my sons birthday with a surprise cake and song. We recommend this experience and can’t wait to come back and do a longer trip.

 

Reviewed by mhart2224

Oct 4, 2019

Review posted on TripAdvisor:

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

Quixotic Fantastic

 We experienced the ultimate Fiji Islands experience on the Quixotic. Hosts Jenny and Sasha delivered an unforgettable tour meeting our needs,answering all questions of the people, topography,and ocean life we experienced.
Food preperation, presentation, and flavors deserve a five star rating. With a gluten free, and healthy habit diets, Chef Jenny delivered incredible meals throughout our tour of the islands. Filling meals, hors d'oeurves, and healthy drinks were served on a regular basis with cultural flavors that pleased our active lifestyles.
Quixotic Captain Sasha is a seasoned skipper with a lifetime of boating experience. His handling of the Quixotic, sea knowledge, and sense of humor kept us informed, laughing, and secure throughout our tour. Sasha looks, performs, and entertains with the sense of confidence of a seasoned skipper.
The Quixotic offers a full compliment of activity selection. Kayak, Stand up Paddleboard, Snorkeling, and swimming equipment was offered. We enjoyed regular swims, SUP paddling, and kayak tours of the reefs with multitudes of tropical fish and rays.
Enough cannot be said of our Fiji experience on the Quixotic. This was a trip of a lifetime and Jenny and Sasha delivered every moment. Future trips are in the making based on this adventurous trip to Fiji. Thank you Jenny and Sasha for this memorable experience.

Reviewed by JFaillers

September 29, 2019

Review posted on TripAdvisor:

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

Amazing boat - a day just wasn't enough!

 Left on Oct 28, 2019 for a stay in Oct 2019

We decided to have a one-day boat trip for some private time out on the Fiji seas and some quiet snorkelling. We were trying to avoid a mass group outing but rather were seeking something a bit more private. From the moment we enquired of Quixotic’s availability we had really fast and constant communication with Sasha and Jennie, with back and forth on the route we wanted to take and any special food requests. They helped us pick the best day for our outing and were really flexible with helping us to find the perfect sailing conditions and the right day for our trip. On the day, Sasha was a great host, meeting us and welcoming us aboard Quixotic. We had loads of time to relax and read in the rear lounge as well as spending some time just hanging out on the foredeck enjoying the spectacular views and watching the islands pass by. As a final treat, Sasha introduced us to the delights of banana rum... delicious. We loved our day aboard Quixotic and just wish that we’d booked a week!

oliverjhudson

Birmingham, United Kingdom

Review posted on TripAdvisor: 

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

CAREFREE!!!

 Left on Oct 8, 2019 for a stay in Sep 2019

My stay on Quixotic was the epitome of the perfect vacation! Quixotic is a beautiful, impeccably maintained yacht; all was as described in the overview. The crew, Sasha and Jennie are warm, friendly, gracious hosts. Captain Sasha gained my trust as he expertly sailed the catamaran; Jennie as chef/stew continually amazed us with outstanding, delicious, healthy meals and snacks. Their combined local knowledge and love of sailing made for complete immersion in the cruising lifestyle. With the relaxing atmosphere on board and the beautiful Fijian scenery I’d say “pinch me, is this real?” I am so happy to have had the opportunity to experience this slice of heaven on earth, many thanks, vinaka!

Stephanie F. on TripAdvisor

Review posted on TripAdvisor: 

LINK TO REVIEW HERE

“Hi everyone,

As we read (again) the double page that features Quixotic in this month’s Fijitime magazine (see attached), we couldn’t help but to draft this note from the plane back to Auckland with fresh and sweet memories in mind...

 

We just wanted to send our gratitude once again for having welcomed us on Quixotic for our anni/honeymoon. There was no better way we could imagine to end this 1-month journey that started in an epic vintage campervan in NZ and ended on your beautiful cat’. It went far beyond all our expectations, and this is truly thanks to the magical moments that Charlie and Klevisa crafted for us. Lucky us, we had the weather on our side and everything went very smoothly! We were just over the moon at all times as we were truly pampered from morning to evening. 

We were really glad to support such a beautiful business like yours and Dive Academy and, we definitely can’t wait to set another date for a come back!

Take care all, and safe ⛵️.

 

With love,

Alex & Celine"

An Unforgettable Day

What a day. From start to finish Captain Sasha and his beautiful wife Jennie exceeded our expectations all day. They waited on us hand and foot non-stop, there was never a moment that we did not feel like royalty. Jennie is an unbelievable cook and Sasha has stories for days. The conversations with the two of them was more interesting than you can imagine. Sasha truly reminded me of the most interesting man. They have sailed all throughout the Pacific and have an amazing knowledge of the entire area.


The boat itself is magnificent. It is in pristine condition, extremely clean and is all around beautiful. The open deck can seat at least 6 people and we spent most of our day out there. Whenever it got too hot, Jennie was able to make a shaded area for us so that we could still remain on the open deck without having to stay in the hot sun. Always comfortable and never too crowded, The Quixotic was amazing.

We sailed from Momi Bay to Honeymoon Island (while on our honeymoon). While sailing Sasha and Jenny would point out interesting facts about the resorts or islands we were passing. We eventually anchored about 50 meters off the coast and snorkeled up onto the deserted beach. Seclusion doesn’t even describe this experience. Waiting for us on our swim back, Jennie and Sasha had the fresh water hose ready for us and some shampoo, conditioner and soap to take a quick shower right on the steps of the boat while overlooking the island.

As soon as we were dried off, Sasha and Jennie surprised us with a bottle of champagne to enjoy with an amazing cheese and cracker board while Jennie cooked us our lunch. All while anchored off of Honeymoon Island. Lunch was incredible. Wahoo steak with sautéed vegetables and a potato purée. It was better than the food we have been eating at our Marriot resort! To top it off she served a homemade chocolate almond pie with a graham cracker crust. Incredible.

I can go on and on about the magnificence of our day with Sasha and Jennie but I don’t want to give away too many more of their surprises (because there are a lot) but I hope you get the point. This experience was worth every penny. I was at first skeptical by the price but my wife and I both said afterwards that we would have even paid more. The day we spent with Sasha and Jennie will be one that we remember for the rest of our lives.

Review posted on TripAdvisor by

andrewleace

Boca Raton, FL

on Feb 29, 2020 for stay in Feb 2020

LINK TO REVIEW HERE